Navagraha Temple

Uzan Bazaar, Guwahati, Assam Phone: Not Available


The Navagraha Temple of the nine planets is situated atop a hill named Chitrasaala in east Guwahati. Housed in a red beehive shaped dome, this is an ancient seat of astrology and astronomy clubbed together. The central 'Shiva-Linga' is encircled by nine others representing the nine planets of the solar system. Also known as the 'Abode of Surya', this temple of the nine celestial bodies, symbolized as Lingas are each covered with a colored garment, with the center symbolizing as the sun. The nine planetary gods namely, Surya (Sun), Chandra (Moon), Mangala (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Brihaspati (Jupiter), Sukra (Venus), Sani (Saturn), Rahu and Ketu enshrined in this temple represent the ancient wisdom of a cultural past.

If you have been to Navagraha Temple, share your experience

Review this place