Southern Gulf Coast Travel Guide

The Southern Gulf Coast is a region in Southern Thailand. It includes the provinces of Songkhla and Phatthalung, and the three deep southern provinces of Pattani, Narathiwat and Yala. The region of the deep southern provinces is also sometimes called Patani  a name which echoes the name of the former Kingdom of Patani which encompassed the region. This is the only region in Thailand with a Muslim majority. The deep south is sometimes also said to include the province of Satun, but this guide uses a slightly more limited definition.